Advice for Newbie

Name
Tania
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all
Bit of advice needed please. As a beginner I have limited my budget to £300. Have seen seen great reviews for the Nikon D40 and this has been my first choice for some time. I,ve also seen and like the look of the Olympus E-410. The Pentax k110d is also within budget but I,ve not seen many reviews for them. Problem for me is that I have no idea about the technical jargon of camera's or len's. I am interested in landscapes, night shots and portraits ( posssibly some sports shots once i know what i am doing!!) I'm going to look around tomorrow to see what feels good but given a choice between the 3 which would you choose for what I want to do? (Also bearing in mind that in the future I may want to add other lenses to my kit if I need them ???)
Thanks in advance
Tania

As always... go to your local friendly camera shop, give them all a feel :naughty: and see which one feels "right" to you. They're all capable cameras, all of them have a good lens range (with the olympus and pentax being slightly more expensive perhaps, and less 2nd hand availablility).. So it really does depend on what feels right.

I don't like the feel of either the Pentax or the Canon models, so I went for a Nikon.. didn't really consider olympus at the time tbh, for no reason really.

Get yourself to Jessops, see what feels right, then look online at www.camerapricebuster.co.uk for the best price (y)

I agree with Mattyh, They are all good cameras and feel is the most important thing. There are more 2nd hand lenses for the Nikon and Pentax (which uses all of the pentax fit lenses) than for the Oly.

Personaly I picked canon on feel over the others 3 years ago, but that was just the, lots of cash spent since:crying:

As said above go handle them, the feel is important though subjective.
All the cameras can take good shots ,you turn them into great ones and that might not come if you are subconsciously uncomfortable with the camera.