Advice on the Canon 430EXII Flashgun

Name
Mike
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I'm new to these forums and was wondering if I could get some advice from 430EXII owners.

I have had a 450D for a few months now, but have really hated the on-board "pop up" flash. I hate the harsh lighting effect in gives. In particular for portraits, I hate the fact it can often blow out parts of the face or leave harsh shadows, whilst failing to give a balanced exposure for the rest of the image. So much so, wherever possible I shoot with a longer exposure and a tripod to save using the flash. This obviously has serious limitations and I think its time I get a proper flash.

(I should add, the problems I have with the on-board pop-up could well be mostly just due to the fact I am a novice!) I don't know whether a 430EXII would be a solution to my hatred for the flash, or whether I just need to learn some technique to use the built-in flash better.

What I would really like some kind 430EX owner to do, is to take a shot of something with and without the 430EX (i.e. once with the standard flash and once with the flashgun) so I can see the comparison. I'm sorry if this is posted in the wrong place, or something is wrong, but I just want to be able to achieve better results with a flash :bang:

Thanks.

Its safe to say the speedlight will be lightyears (pun intened!) ahead of the onboard. If you want to do portraits etc... then its essential. Biggest benefits being able to bounch and the flash being further from the body.

Its safe to say the speedlight will be lightyears (pun intened!) ahead of the onboard. If you want to do portraits etc... then its essential. Biggest benefits being able to bounch and the flash being further from the body.

:agree:

The external flash will be miles better purely because you you will be able to utilise bounce flash instead of direct flash that will give you a much softer lighting and a better photo.