AF beam off or on

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
When using a speedlight shooting into a reflective umbrella do you turn the AF beam on the flash off or leave it on or does it not matter

I'm no expert but if it's not interfering with the shooting experience I would leave it on as it's something less to remember when I would need it switched back on.

Gaz

I'm no expert but if it's not interfering with the shooting experience I would leave it on as it's something less to remember when I would need it switched back on.

Gaz

That's what I thought but I thought I would ask just in case

It's just a light to provide contrast - so won't affect anything - I'd leave it on unless it annoyed you :)

Well, I almost never have it on anyway... will it even illuminate if the flash is off camera? The flash doesn't know the camera is trying to focus (does it?); the TTL communication isn't transmitted until the shutter is released. Either way, it shouldn't matter other than wasting battery power.

Back before auto focus beams in the early days of digital photography, getting the camera to focus in very dimly lit locations was next to impossible. I came up with the idea of using a red laser gunsight and made a foot for the laser that let me mount it on a cold shoe next to the camera. I had to explain what the red dot was, or everyone would hit the deck when I turned it on, thinking that I was pointing a gun at them, but once they knew what I was doing there was no problem. The red dot showed in the photos that I took, but it was easy to remove the dot in Photoshop, so focus problem solved..