ahhh lenses

Name
Darren
Edit My Images
Yes
:bang::bang::bang::bang:

I am new to photography and am intrested in starting to take some sports photos and am looking to invest in a telephoto lens

But as i am finding out it seems to be a minefeild out there

I have a canon 600D and have been looking at the Canon EF Telephoto zoom lens - 70 mm - 300 mm - F/4.0-5.6

but i have also discovered the sigma 70-300mm and the tamron 70-300mm

Any one got any previous use of the about lens and offer any advice

I've got the EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens, In my mind don't contemplate the non-IS. For the cash overall its not a huge saving and I love this results you get with it.
On my 40D, this can really reach, and you'll get very similar results too due to the crop sensor.
I can't speak about the tamron or sigma, but the Canon 70-300 IS non L...great and worth the money.
I bought mine 2nd hand from AVF and picked it up in Winsor, still going strong today, 4 years later. Though it will be replaced with the L over the next 12 months.

I would recommend the Canon 70-300 IS. The Canon IS and Tamron VC should have similar image quality while the Sigma is perhaps a bit behind them. But most importantly the Canon will AF the fastest and most accurately, and for sports that is the most important thing overall.

The Tamron SP 70-300mm VC is the best from these 3 lenses, Super quick AF, 4 stop immage stabalizer, Also the front barel doesnt rotate so better if you wanna fit a filter holder. I've used this lens and compared to my much expensive Canon EF 70-300mm L glass theres not alot in it in terms of i'm quality and contrast. Only thing i didnt like about it was the zoom/focus rings seemed a little stiff to me and the image stabalizer would kick in with a bit of a whirr.

Last edited:
The sports i will mainly be photographing will be motor sports like oval racing and bike racing

thanks for the input guys its been a big help.