Another PC v's Mac thread

Edit My Images
No
My 15yr daughter has just signed up for the Photography course as part of her sixth form plans which I am very pleased about. The problem is they use Macs and at home she has a PC. I was wondering if I would be better to buy her a Mac or to teach her at home using a PC as I have very little experience with a Mac but am quite advanced with the PC. I don't want her to get rid of the PC as there are a lot of other things I can teach her on there having an IT background. I have looked into adding the Mac to the network and it doesn't seem overly complicated so thats not a problem. I don't want to force my way of doing things onto her if there are better ways of doing it.
I was thinking of getting her a Mac book but boy are they expensive, I already have to get her a 35mm and digital slr so would like to keep costs down a bit if possible.
Any advice would be welcomed

stick with what you've got, she'll use the macs at college and pick that up and still be able to use your pc's at home, there won't be any particular benefit to adding a mac to your collection imo.

the apps work the same generally just each os has it's quirks but she'll pick those up quickly anyhow and you can save yourself some money

it's like saying i've got a nikon but the school uses canon so should i add a canon to our camera collection...they both do the same thing

If they are using Macs at college then it might be better for her to use a mac to do things at home too - but it is possible to use the same software on windows that they will use. You will of course have to get that software for windows, where as if she has a mac already she may be able to get the software from the college for her working purposes.

She is a very arty girl and shows a lot of talent for both photography and PS so I would love her to pursue this as a career, I guess I need to research which platform the workplace she would be entering is most likely to use and go with that one.