Aurora Borealis questions

Name
Adrian
Edit My Images
No
I have a few questions about photographing the Aurora. I went on an Aurora tour and the tour guide took some very nice photos of the Aurora.

1) How come, when using a 'proper' camera, the photos look like they have been taken in the daylight?
2) How come the photos seem to look better than looking at them with the naked eye?
3) Which camera/lens would you recommend for taking photos of the Aurora?
4) I'm a total novice, so the chances are, I'm not going to buy any equipment to answers to question number three but I'm just curious.
5) What kind of settings should be used to photograph the Aurora?

Hi Adrian, welcome to TP. :)

Please don't take this the wrong way, but if you're not looking for specific help from fellow photographers have you never heard of a search engine?

Five seconds of typing presented me with enough reading to satisfy all your questions, plus a whole lot more: https://duckduckgo.com/?t=ffab&q=how+to+photo+aurora+borealis&ia=web
Regarding the answers, I did find information on certain websites but I would have preferred to get opinions from this forum. Regarding which camera/lens, there are lots of different websites giving opinions on different cameras. Again, I was just curious about what people in this forum would recommend.

Reactions: Sky
I have a few questions about photographing the Aurora. I went on an Aurora tour and the tour guide took some very nice photos of the Aurora.

1) How come, when using a 'proper' camera, the photos look like they have been taken in the daylight?
2) How come the photos seem to look better than looking at them with the naked eye?
4) I'm a total novice, so the chances are, I'm not going to buy any equipment to answers to question number three but I'm just curious.
Hey,
Probably can't answer all your questions.. but gonna write what I've done the few times I've been up north...