Basics of lighting.

Name
Richard Black
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm Very new to photography of a half decent level as a whole let alone lighting.

I had my car photo'd for total vauxhall yesterday and a fantastic photographer (Chris Wallbank) Was doing the shots.

He had 2 lights, and a speed light on the floor and got some fantastic shots.

Can this be done on a budget? With Halogen lights? I have a 12v Halogen light int he garage, for working on cars. I wondered with some decent bulbs and a stand could you get half decent results? Any tips or advice on what to try or buy?

Cheers
So far i have a 300 ADF Jessops flash gun... Should i be ashamed?:shrug:

Should i be ashamed?
For having the passion and enthusiasm to try something totally new? What do you think? :LOL:

You can get some good shots with almost any bits of odd lights and kit you can get your hands on. If you're a pro like the guy that shot your car the other day, then some good and versatile kit is kinda essential. But that's because he has to be able to turn up, get some ideas, shoot some images with a good variety and get it all done in a smallish time frame.

Take away some of those constraints and you're far more able to take your time and experiment. When you're a bit fresh to working with multiple off camera lights, it's actually far easier to use constant lights than flash as you can see what you're doing all the time. :)

I'm far from Pro, Its my aim though. Cant see it happening, but its an aim all the same!
Cheers for the link Kungfukid, I'll have a read through that now.

What i'm trying to work out, woudl you get good results from a set of halogen lights with shrouds to evenly disperse the lights, instead of camera activated lights?

What i'm trying to work out, woudl you get good results from a set of halogen lights with shrouds to evenly disperse the lights, instead of camera activated lights?