begginer camera

Name
Gary
Edit My Images
Yes
hi guys im new to photography and am looking for a reasonable camera for around the £300 (cheap enough to leave in the cupboard if i dont take to it) but good enough to last a while if i do take to it

it will be used mainly for wildlife people and pets

i was thinking nikon d40 but someone told me the higher the mega pixels the better and this has around 6 mega pixels?

any help welcome:clap:

someone told me the higher the mega pixels the better

Doh.......

Pizzle

It is a combination of all manner of things not just the number of pixels. I have just seen an advert on TV for a point and shoot camera with 12Mp which is more than my D200. Which one is better?

Seriously the D40 is a great camera and you will get a new one for £300 but you would also get a new D40x for around £300 which is basically a 10Mp version of the D40 anyway........

You should also look at the Canon range too but seriously pixel number is not everything!

I have a D40x listed under classifieds which is 10MP for £200 delivered and very similar to the current D60. Send me a PM if you are interested

This would be ideal then with your £100 change you could buy:

Tripod £20
bag £40 - see classifieds there are a few for sale
Jessops iTTL 300AFDN flash £40

or another lens

In fact I have a Digital Rev camera bag here you can have for £5 to cover postage. PM me if you want it.

It is body only but is boxed, only 3000 actuations. You could pick up the standard kit lens 18-55 off ebay for approx £40.

That still leaves enough for a cheapo tripod and cheap flash or some filters. My wife has the D40x and my daughter has the D60, the are virtually identical cameras so you wouldn't go wrong with that.