Critique Beginner's shot on the Clyde

Edit My Images
Yes
Folks a complete beginners shot from earlier this evening on the Clydeside. Was only there for a short period and picked out this as the best of a bad bunch! :)

Shot using my new Nikon D3200 in automatic mode. All I have is the camera and 18-55mm kit lens. No filters used and don't have a tripod or remote shutter release. All comments welcome.

DSC_0034
by southsider_78, on Flickr

I like the separation of the "armadillo" and the "soup bowl" with just a small gap between. I'd prefer not to have the distracting white triangle on the left hand edge, and I wonder if a small crop off the top would improve the image. Minor points - but all I can suggest. Well done.

Last edited:
I like the separation of the "armadillo" and the "soup bowl" with just a small gap between. I'd prefer not to have the distracting white triangle on the left hand edge, and I wonder iof a small crop off the top would improve the image. Minor points - but all I can suggest. Well done.

Thanks Stephen.

The white triangle is the edge of a canopy on the bridge. I never actually noticed it which was probably down to the size of the image on screen when cropping it. I'll give it another go in the Nikon editing software I have.

If you mean when you originally composed the photo, it may not have been visible. I don't know if the Nikon D3200 has a 100% viewfinder view, but I do know that from a single eye position it's impossible to see all the screen edges on an Olympus E3 - you have to tripod mount it and move around behind the eyepiece to see everything.

Please remember at the end of the day, it's only my opinion and it's your image, so don't take anything I say as carved in stone.