Best Options for Backing up/External Storage on a MAC

Name
Andy
Edit My Images
Yes
Currently running 15 Inch Macbook pro 4GB Ram 500GB HDD 2GB Memory.

I have a WD 1TB drive that i back everything up with and a 320GB Mypassport that i use for backing up when im away from home. I also use the Mypassport as a general use HDD - Itunes etc (i want to have the bare minimum on the Macbooks drive to keep it from running slowly)

So what is my best option Ive heard of Time Machine but im new to mac (3 weeks)

Ideally i want something that will automatically back up any changes to files and will be able to operate with more than one Mac (Im looking at getting a mac pro early next year)

What are peoples favoured methods for backing up? do you replicate everything 2-3 times or do you have say RAW, TIFF and JPEG files on seperate HDDs

Many thanks in Advance for peoples time/help

(y):)

im currently looking at the nas backup enclosures, like the synology l209. runs off your home router to give you back ups. you can then set it to do a raid1 where it duplicates the info onto both drives thus giving you a backup.

not got too far into looking at it yet though so no idea if they are any good

Hi Andy
i want to have the bare minimum on the Macbooks drive to keep it from running slowly

You don't need to worry too much about this. HFS (the apple file system) doesn't suffer from the same fragmentation problems which FAT/NTFS (windows file systems) which are the main causes of performance problems.
There is some more info here if you want a bit more than my word for that though :D
As long as having all your data on your MacBooks internal drive won't fill it to bursting point, you'll be fine.

If you go that route, TimeMachine (TM) has to be the way forward. You can do this in a variety of ways..
  • Use TM to back up to an external drive plugged in via USB
  • Buy a TimeCapsule
  • Plug an external drive into Airport base station (if you use one) and back up to that