Birds in the garden have simply vanished!

Name
Wez
Edit My Images
Yes
A strange one this. I've been feeding the birds in the garden, every day, for the last 5-6 months. We've had Sparrows, Collared Doves and Starlings mainly. Lots of the three that I've mentioned. Also, Blue Tits, GSW, Great Tits and Robins.

But about a week ago, they simply stopped visiting! I moved the bird table 2 feet from where it was (middle of the garden) towards the back hedge, thinking that they'd prefer it closer to cover. Didn't see any at all so moved it back a couple of days ago to where it was.

Washed out all the feeders and put in a load of new food and there still isn't a single bird. A couple of Collared Doves used the birdbath this morning but other than that, zilch.

Any ideas why?

Same here. I was just thinking the same this morning. I've had mostly Goldfinches on the feeders this year, but in the past couple of weeks there's been the odd Robin sitting on the fence but nothing on the feeders. We need to remember that this is the height of the season as far as natural food that's available for them. Lets face it we would rather have a nice steak than a bag of nuts! Well I would anyway! They will be back in a few weeks time.

Fairly sure Neil is right. There is a load of natural food around just now. I also think the main breeding season is over so adult birds that would use feeders as a way of getting a quick meal earlier in the year don't have that pressure anymore.

Dave

use to get 50+ Starlings a day but they have all gone :( not ever seen many flying around still got the odd Sparrows, Collared Doves turning up and the finches