Beginner Blog photographer wanting some help!

Name
caitlin
Edit My Images
No
Hi guys, hope its ok to post on this thread!

I am a newbie but i love phorography. I recently got the Canon 600d and i love it! I only have the standard 18-55mm kit lens.

I know a fair bit about appeture and iso and i generally use is on AV mode (im still very unsure of shutter speed to use it manually!) but im struggling to get the background blurry and the product in focous. I'm a beauty blogger and its the main objective to have your images the best they can be. If you have any tips to make my photos look light and airy and out of focous in the background send them my way!

I'm here mainly to say that i'm going to new york in december and i want to get some amazing snaps, i also want to start youtube filming (i will NEED the blurred background sorted by then!) and im also wanting to become a freelance newborn photographer. I currently work in childcare and i love children i just dont love the job i do with children and i love photography so why not pair them together?! I also want to photograph children/toddlers too not just newborns (mainly newborn though!)

Baseically guys i want your input on wether you think i should get some lighting and some affordable one at that (im inthe UK) and also, should i get the Canon 50mm lens? I'm really stuck wether this would be the best one for me bloggers and youtubers rave about it but i wanted to see what you guys all think!

I'd love any help you can offer!

Welcome to TP!

Lots of questions there. You say a beauty blogger, what are you taking pictures of?

Not to give a lecture and to see what your understanding is do you know what causes a blurry background in pictures?
Do you have any pictures you could post up so we could see the "im struggling to get the background blurry and the product in focous"?