budget bird lens

Name
Nick
Edit My Images
Yes
i shoot weddings for a living but i want to get my hobby back. So i thought i would have a go at birds and maybe a little sport. Problem is the longest lens i have is the 70-200mm f2.8 IS L, great for weddings but not long enough. As the lens is not for work i can not justify spending thousands. so with a budget of £500 what would you recommend. My main camera is the Canon 1 DX

As les says the sigma is a great lens, loads of length and sharp too

definatley the sigma 150-500 and you should be able to get a used one for your budget.

bleddyn

I agree with all of the previous posts. The Sigma 150-500 is the best for the money.

Definitely a +1 for the Sigma 150-500.

MPB have some for as little as £529

Going to be the 8th person in this thread to say +1 on the Sigma 150-500.

So you have a 5 grand camera and want to put a 150/500 sigma on it now that would be a waste ... sorry all you sigma owners ...

stretch your budget and get the Canon 400L 5.6 S/H around £ 750 and way out perform the sigma ..

Mick ..

So you have a 5 grand camera and want to put a 150/500 sigma on it now that would be a waste ... sorry all you sigma owners ...

stretch your budget and get the Canon 400L 5.6 S/H around £ 750 and way out perform the sigma ..

Mick ..

He stated his budget so we offered him ideas based on said budget.

Otherwise I would have said:

Stretch your budget slightly and buy a Canon EF 500mm f4 L IS II, only £7765.00 from WEX.

I see your point about him having a top of the range body and a standard telephoto, but if its just for general pleasure use then I think it should suffice. It's still capable of some cracking results.

Last edited:
Cheap option: 2x TC for your 70-200mm F/2.8.

But the Siggy is very well regarded by birders.