Buying a new camera - faulty?

Edit My Images
No
Hi guys,

When you a buy a camera, what should you look out for apart from the obvious (missing accessorites etc). Since this is the first SLR camera I bought, I don't know what faulty signals I should look out for. Another member has just said that some of the pictures look very light due to the camera, so he swapped it. Are there any tests?

Thanks!
Wolf

First of all what camera have you purchased? Have you taken any pictures with it so far? Is there something happening or not that makes you think its faulty?

Nikon d40. I was just thinking if there are some parts that are notorious for being faulty or not since it seems quite a delicate equipment! Since Im a newbie into the slr world, i might not know if the pics i take show a good or faulty picture :D

Cant really help with anything nikon specific but try downloading and printing off some focus test sheets and things and see what happens i guess.

don't get paranoid :nono:, just get the camera, read the manual :)rules:), put it together carefully, charge the battery & go shoot

The manual ( :rules: ) lists what should be in the box, and anything problem will become apparent when it dont work.

yes they're complicated expensive bits of kits, but quite rugged too as long as you take reasonable care & dont go out of your way to destroy them. Treat them with respect and they'll withstand a lot of hard use.

just be careful to
- keep body & unattached lenses seperate in a padded bag,
- keep it dry and clean,
- put a protector (or UV) filter on the lens ASAP,
- always have a soft CLEAN lens cleaning cloth,
- be religous about using lens caps both ends on lenses not in use