Buying a second hand Nikon lens with no guarantee?

Name
Dan
Edit My Images
No
Hi all

I'm looking for a deal on a Nikon 28-70mm 2.8 lens to pair with my new D3. I'm trying to find one second hand to get a bit of a bargain.

I may have found one, from a UK based shop that you can order online from. Problem is it's listed as "as seen" and comes with no guarantee. All other items/ lenses on the site have the usual 'mint', 'exc' etc ratings. It's described as boxed but missing the rubber zoom ring and having a small mark on the rear element.

It's listed as £500. Brand new this beast still retails for about £1000 in the UK, but can get from Hong Kong for around £750

The fact it's an actual shop means I'd be covered by the distance selling regulations act doesn't it, so if I wasn't happy with it I could return it.

What do people think, too knackered, too much of a risk???

I'm no legal expert, but if the seller has described the lens as having a mark on the rear element, you couldn't return it for that reason. Certainly, you could try, but the seller would not have to accept the reason for return as the lens fits the description they have give under the Sale of Goods Act ie goods must fit the description.

Sound too much of a risk to me for the sake of £250 imho.

As I understand it (someone correct me if I'm wrong, or you've had bad experiences) - the distance selling regulations act involves a 7 day 'cooling off period'. ie you can return something, for no reason whatsoever, if you want to.

Official info here

Kind of agree though. For the sake of £250 I'd want something shiny and new with no marks I think. But I'm tight, and now poor after the D3 :), so am looking for bargains.

Dont do it