Camera Storage

Name
Amy
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi! my name is Amy and I am a beginner. This is my first time owning a DSLR and this is my first post to this site. My question is how should I sore my camera? I have a bag that came with it when I purchased it but I'm more interested in knowing if I should store it with the lens on or not? Sorry if this is very basic but I want to take the best care if my camera. They aren't cheap! Thank you in advance.

I always store my camera's with a lens on,I believe that the fewer times you change lenses or take a lens on and off the better for keeping the inside and sensor dust free. Providing your bag/case gives the correct support it will be fine,also when I do change lenses I always hold the body facing down and when the lens is off give a quick blow out with a rocket blower. I hope this helps and a very big welcome to you.

Welcome to the site Amy. I agree with the above. In addition I keep a couple of bags of silcia gel in my bag. At the end of the day I always remove the SDD cards and transfer the data to my computer, check the files are opening and then format the SDD cards(s) in camera. Then it's ready to go for the next time. There is a whole thread on here about batteries which is worth a read.

I just leave my kit in a bag, or on the desk, or the sideboard, in a drawer or wherever it's not going to get knocked by the cats.

I'm not precious about it and I've never had any damage come to any of my gear - it really is super-duper tough, you'd do will to damage any of it.

That said, the worst thing you can do is drop it, that can write kit off, so don't do that and you'll be fine.

Being careful about lens changes is sensible but try not to get anal about it - just don't go changing lenses in sandstorms and you'll be fine. If you only have one lens then there isn't really ever a reason to take the lens off.

I do have two lenses but right now I rarely use the other. So I just leave it in its little bag.