can someone spec me some filters

Edit My Images
Yes
hi, I have a fuji S5600zoom i have a polorising filter and a macro filter.
I want a IR filter.
And was thinking of a ND and/or ND grad filter, would i need any otheres?
I like the IR shots, and i like the landscape shots and the stuff like making water look blured, or even like fog like Misah kahn did.
I know my thread is 55mm and seen a hoya IR one for £27
and hoya ND for around £17. But i dont know what strenght ND to get? im a beginner so dont know what i want lol.
But what about NDGrad filters had a look at them and they totally confuse me do i have to get other things like filter holders to use them the whole coking thing just puzzels me.
TIA

Hi there.

For IR, first thing to do is (and don't laugh) get yourself in a dark room and point a remote control for your telly at the camera, press a button and see if you can see any light coming from the remote. Because you have an electronic viewfinder, what you see through it is what the sensor sees. So if you can see any infrared light coming from your remote then it means your camera can see infrared light and you can take IR pics. This is not always possible with all cameras. Some have more or less sensitivity to infrared light.

Next, does your camera have a bulb exposure mode or similar? Reason being is that you're going to need to make exposures of around a minute or more, even on a bright sunny day, as cameras aren't very sensitive to IR so need long exposure times for enough light to fall onto the sensor to generate an image.

If all of the above are correct then a Hoya R72 filter will indeed let you take IR pics.

Generally though, a dSLR will produce much better resukts than a bridge camera.

A straight ND filter wil just cut the amount of light hitting the sensor so you can use longer exposures and get the blurred water effect you're after. A 3 stop or .9 ND is a good place to start.