Canadian Goose

Name
Shane
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm a newbie on here and not been into photography for very long but been reading for a while picking up some good advice.

Bought a 70-200mm 2.8L IS from Kerso which arrived yesterday. Took this one today.

canadian-goose.jpg

It's not from Canada.

What Tiler65 is trying to say is that they are called Canada Geese, not Canadian Geese :D

Anyway welcome to our section of TP, and feel free to post some more images, not a bad first effort, you would have been better being the other side of the bird so that the sun was behind you, rather than having the subject back lit. (y)

Ok, I get it. I stand corrected.

Martyn, good point about the direction of sunlight. The water's edge is just out of shot to the left and they were making their way towards it so I didn't really have time to get to the other side. Whether I would have had the inclination to do so is another matter, however.

I've been reading posts where some people claim to shoot 'wide open' - would this be common practice (in general terms) and what would be the best means of controlling exposure in this instance. Shutter speed? ISO? A combination?

Thanks for your comments. I'm not overly excited by the photo TBH, just thought I'd use it as an excuse for an opening post and it's probably a decent indication of the level I'm at anyway.

Last edited:
Ok, I get it. I stand corrected.

Martyn, good point about the direction of sunlight. The water's edge is just out of shot to the left and they were making their way towards it so I didn't really have time to get to the other side. Whether I would have had the inclination to do so is another matter, however.

I've been reading posts where some people claim to shoot 'wide open' - would this be common practice (in general terms) and what would be the best means of controlling exposure in this instance. Shutter speed? ISO? A combination?