Canon 50mm 1.8

Edit My Images
Yes
Got this lens on order, hopefully will be here by the end of the week.

I have read mixed reviews about the lens and a lot of people saying that its extremely 'Soft' at 1.8, now I was thinking that possibly due to price this is because it is being used by beginners and at 1.8 there is a chance not all of your subject is going to be sharp..... could be completely wrong there being a beginner myself..

What I am idealy after is any advice on using this lens, what are the common pitfalls etc, as I don't want to spoil my first experiences by not being able to use what I have... I will mainly be using it for indoor shots of the dog etc, but was hoping to try taking it out and about for some flower shots then possibly shots of items placed in front of a window getting natural light.

It might be because I am inept at using it, but even when photographing buildings at an angle (where surely some part of the building would have been in focus!), I found it to be sharper at f2 or f2.2
That said, for the price, I don't see any other lenses at those apertures!

It might be because I am inept at using it, but even when photographing buildings at an angle (where surely some part of the building would have been in focus!), I found it to be sharper at f2 or f2.2
That said, for the price, I don't see any other lenses at those apertures!

It is definately sharper if you stop it down ever so slightly but it is perfectly useable wide open and I've taken plenty of good shots with it that way.

No problems here at 1.8
3588210361_9e40722abe.jpg

I often think there is too much attention to the last % of sharpness, contrast, whatever, vs the actual point of the photo - the prompting of a fond memory, a thought-provoking artistic scene, the conveyance of a subjet, whatever.