Canon RAW conversion, DPP or Lightroom

Name
Steve
Edit My Images
No
I have been using Lightroom to convert RAW files for several years without any issue. However having bought a R7 a few months ago I was not pleased with the noise and appearance of some pictures when using LR, usually taken at high ISO (max 6400). I recently tried some of these images through DPP and the results were better, at least to me. If necessary I will learn how to use DPP and output the files as TIF to use in LR for further editing.

The difference may be due to the defaults used in DPP being different to those in LR. DPP uses the default camera settings unless these are turned off. This results in eg noise reduction and sharpening being applied, whereas LR seems to start from a lower base. If I set DPP to ignore the camera settings I still end up with better results.

I would rather not introduce another piece of software into my workflow but I may have to, at least for the R7.

Does anyone use DPP rather than LR for RAW conversion? (I’m not interested in any other software).

I'm sure I read a long time back that Canon DPP automatically does noise reduction.

If I remember correctly at that long time back people were a bit upset about this but googling might get you to the story.

If I'm remembering correctly and auto noise reduction is what you are seeing and if that is what is accounting for the better results then I suppose one way forward could be to fiddle with the LR noise reduction and see if you can do better. If not DPP may be the way to go.

Last edited:
Ridiculous settings like iso 6400.

You have such a way with words. What would you suggest as the max acceptable ISO?

Which version of LR? As above noise reduction in the current version is good.

How is that ridiculous? Any movement faster than walking pace is less than ideal light is likely to end up there.

And modern cameras can handle that without issue.
go on, pick on language.