Christening

Name
Jamie
Edit My Images
Yes
Well here's photos from my first event photography! My girlfriend's baby cousin's Christening. This proved a BIG challenge for me and was rather overwhelming when I was trying to arrange 9 kids into a photo, while battling with rubbish light!

C&C on all photos welcome as always :)

(apologies for oversized images. sorted now :) )

Last edited:
You might want to get them resized, they are over the forum limits :)

Well, its a shame the first one, the focus isnt on the childs face, otherwise this would have been a nice image.

The second is probably the best, but the last two are just snaps, no real thought been put into them really. Hope that wasnt too harsh, just being honest :)

Thanks Betty :) I'm new to all this taking photos of people, so still just learning! Any C&C is good!

Could you possibly tell me how I could transform the large group shot from a snap to a good photograph? :) I'm just not sure what else I can do when I'm fitting so many people in!

Remember your backgrounds. By looking at the windows, you can tell the verticals are out, plus the light from the windows has caused big areas to be over exposed. And the baby has a no smoking sign right above her head ;)

Try cropping it tighter so there is the same amount of space at either end of the image, what I mean is you've cut the guy on the right in half, but the girl at the opposite end has space to spare.

Try standing further away, and always use natural light whenever possible. Also have a play in photoshop, try upping contrast, B+W etc, until you find something you are happier with. I am at work at the moment so cant do it for you, but Ill have a go later if you want?

Can we see anymore? :)

Number 2 for me is the pick of the four, by a country mile!!! - I think the last too are a little like snaps.