Cloud Bank...

Edit My Images
No
cloudylighthouse800bwdf7.jpg

Captures in RAW, worked in Tiff and 'Saved for Web'...

love it DW love it, one of my favourite subjects cloud formations, also like the mono effect too.

love it DW love it, one of my favourite subjects cloud formations, also like the mono effect too.

ND gradient for the clouds and just a little Yellow photo filter makes all the difference...Really brings out the tone...

applied via camera, or other means?

That's is really good and works brilliant in Mono. Great shot.

Excellent, very impressive.

The clouds are great, but I feel that they take the focus away from the excellent landscape. I think the two should be working together.

Really like it, can you talk me through the post processing?

I am not very good at explaining but here it goes anyway...

After opening the colour image I immediately desaturated (Image|Adjustments|Desaturate) it, then Image|Adjustments|Channel Mixer where I selected the Monochrome radio button where there were a few minor tweaks nothing to write home about and mainly in the red channel.

After which it was off to image|Adjustments|Shadow/Highlight and where I dropped the shadow a little and small increase in Highlight. I had to select some parts of rocks for a little individual treatment with Shadow/Highlights as they were to dark to work with the general adjustments of the image...hope this makes sense.