Complete Newbie/ Novice

Name
Matthew
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

Newbie here! :wave:

After taking photographs on my mobile phone and digital camera of some nice scenery by family have complimented my photography. Therefore I've decided to pursue a hobby in photography and purchase a decent DSLR Camera.

Now, I only know tiny little bits about photography, so I'm looking for a bit of advice on which camera to buy.

People that I have asked seem to be recommending a Canon EOS, but I have seen a Sony A200 pack bundled with a 18-70mm and 75-300mm lens for £449. Does this seem like a decent price for the bundle and is it an ideal camera for a beginner? If not, what sort of camera/ lens would you recommend for a beginner with a budget of around £300-450?

Thanks for your help. :)

Hi and welcome :wave:

It's quite a personal thing so I would;

First thing to do is to go into a camera shop and have a play around with the different makes and models available, see which feels the best (as there are different sized bodies) and whose controls are most intuative to use.

If you've not had one previously, you have no reason tobuy one over another, other than above and cost.

Camera price buster is a good site to look on re prices - gives you an idea if an offer you see is as good as it seems.

Good luck with your search (y)

as andyred says, go and have a look and see how they all feel when held..

The downside of the sony is you are more limited on lens choice than you would be with the canon or nikon.
The small nikons (D40/D60) aren't able to use all nikon lenses due to the camera itself not having an motor to run the auto focus.
Provided you don't go buying full frame canons (several thousand quid..) any canon lens will fit any EOS camera, so its very simple/straightforwards.

Get hold of the cameras and see what you think feels most comfortable, its important because (hopefully) you'll be spending alot of time holding it!

Hi mate,