Completely Newbie Photographer seeking help please :)

Name
Ellie Close
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello,

I am a very new photographer and I have been asked to shoot my friends theatre show tomorrow! The last time I did this I wasn't sure where I went wrong and ended up with grainy photos. Presumably because of the low light in a theatre. I have a Sony AS7ii. I don't have my lens to hand but (think) it's 18-35mm.

I'm trying to insert the photo but it's not working for some reason. Basically it's just grainy and not crisp. I don't remember the settings I used as it was months ago. I also know I shot RAW as I thought I would be able to fix any issues in post... but apparently not.

I bought this camera as I wanted a good camera in low light for making short films. I haven't used it much and honestly don't know much about photography. I have basic understanding of my f.stops and ISO.

Could anyone help me out with this? Anything I should try? Should I be using a different lens? (I know I'll have to be quite in their face rather than at a distance).

Please be nice to me - I just want to learn. - I'm not being paid for this job - I just want to get her some good images to use for publicity.

Thanks,

Hi and welcome to TP

I am only on smartphone right now but s quick Google reveals various pointers to advice/tutorials.

But this one might give you some ready insight and maybe a clearer picture (no pun intended).

https://photo.johanneshjorth.se/tips-for-theatre-photography/

For more support re pictures you are getting you will have to share them on the thread.....of you have a Flickr account you can link them to here as needed.

HTH for now :)

OK, the lens you're using is likely far from idea - it's probably the 16-35 either f2.8 (very expensive) or f4 (more likely - better value).