Connecting active speakers to a pc

SPDIF is digital signal, toslink is just the specific optical terminal that is used, so in this context they are basically one and the same.

I am no expert on the working and setting up of sound cards, but if you only have the speakers connected via optical cable then I would have thought that it would only work via the SPDIF device?

Last edited:
What doesn't help is that people are saying Toslink when they should be saying S/PDIF. Toslink cables have a different connector from S/PDIF and some optical cables have clip-on caps to convert from one to t'other.

The OP went on to say what speakers he was using and the rest of the thread made it pretty clear they were active speakers. It's not our fault if you don't know the difference.

What doesn't help is that people are saying Toslink when they should be saying S/PDIF. Toslink cables have a different connector from S/PDIF and some optical cables have clip-on caps to convert from one to t'other.
Thats wrong. Spdif is the protocol, toslink is the cable/connector.
Sony / Philips Digital Interconnect Format.
Spdif can be transmitted via coaxial (rca) or TOShibaLINK which is optical.

Last edited:
I understood that S/PDIF was the squarish optical connector that we're talking about and Toslink was the skinny round one. A bit of googling seemed to support me but I admit that's no guarantee of accuracy.

Ones I bought labelled as Toslink are square with a central pin.
Digital signal is presumably the visible red light that can be seen at the end of the cable

Last edited:
I understood that S/PDIF was the squarish optical connector that we're talking about and Toslink was the skinny round one. A bit of googling seemed to support me but I admit that's no guarantee of accuracy.
No. Optical is square or can be the skinny round one, and the square are toslink, and the round are mini-optical.
Coaxial is another digital option, and that is a single rca connection, usually orange.