Critique Cornish Twilight Milkyway

Happysnapper79

Suspended / Banned
Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
I posted this in the Landscapes section but got no feedback so thought I would give it a shot here.

Here is a shot I took whilst on holiday in August. The clouds are annoyance but as I only got chance to get out with the camera of an evening once there was no option to try again on a totally clear night.
C+C welcome

Thanks for looking

As a seasoned night shooter I hate cloud when I want to shoot the stars, I actually think however in this instance I think the clouds add to the scene rather than detract, the honest thing is as a scene it's devoid of any interest, but the idea of the stars hiding above the clouds I find really quite appealing, I suspect with some careful processing more could be got out of this image, to make the Milky Way just pop that little bit more :thinking:

When it comes to post processing I am a real beginner and so a little bit of reading on google is going to be in order to make more of the Milky Way.
I agree with what you are saying with regards to the scene, I do think that the lack of interest at the bottom gives the impression of how small we are an as existence though in comparison to space.

Thanks for the comment MWHCVT, appreciated.

John, check this photo out for the difference processing can make to a Milky Way photo http://www.flickr.com/photos/andwhynot/9113172141/

I was planning a lot more Milky Way shooting this summer but a car accident took me out of the picture for the last few months :(

Sorry to hear about the accident, hope you are on the mend. The difference in the two photos is amazing, definitely think I need to learn how to do some tweaking.
I have recently been bit by the whole low light/night photography bug and this was only my 2nd go at photographing the Milky Way.