Critique - feel free!

Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm a bird photographer who just dabbles in night-time stuff. The best thing about shooting the moon, or night photography in general, is that it's just there without going hunting for it and nothing tends to fly away when you point a camera with a wide lens on it at night!

Anyway, I took this shot in about 98% darkeness on Christmas Eve last year. Standing in the cold, there was no way you could see a loch in front of you, and the (apparent) light in the distance was not visible with the naked eye. You simply couldn't see the hill with the snow on it to the left, nor could you see the faint spot of lights at the bottom right of the loch (I still don't know what this is and despite looking like a car, it most certainly isn't!). I was standing less than a meter from my car and I had to fumble about waving my hands in front of me to find the car!

This shot has been heavilly processed with sliders going all the way in numerous directions, so it's a total fabrication from what was actually (not) seen that night. However, it has received accolades of astonishment from friends and relatives and I'm keen to hear what others who don't know me think of it. There is a faint hint of the aurora at the cloud edge in the centre too. I was actually there to shoot the aurora, but the clouds spoiled it. The camera is looking to the north-west.

EOS5Diii, EF24-70 F2.8L, 30s ISO3200.

10862708_908407459178997_4234710029994926134_o.jpg

Last edited:
I would IMHO like to see the orange/yellow dulled down a fraction, and placed on a canvas with the top 2/5th (10 x 4 Crop)missing, Oh & clone the white spot BRH edge of lake :)

Last edited:
cant say anything other than ...nice pic :)

Good effort John in quite challenging circumstances. Personally the colour is just right for me but I am often guilty of overdoing the sliders :)

Love the tinge of the aurora at the edge of the cloud, shame you couldn't get more of it.