Cyclocross

Name
Simon
Edit My Images
Yes
Took my 7 year old daughter to race in the clubs cyclocross, and thought I would take some snaps.

Light conditions were very poor and its my first time learning to pan with the camera.
I took 330 shots, which 126 are keepers while only 5 are good enough for posting.
These were taken with my cheap 75-300mm MK1 canon lens so dont expect L glass quality pictures :shake:
Seem to be using this lens quite a lot so I might look into purchasing a quality one.

Comments welcome.

No1
063-2-Edit-21.jpg

No2
290-2-Edit-21.jpg

No3
101-2-Edit-21.jpg

No4
300-2-Edit-21.jpg

No5
193-2-Edit-2-Edit.jpg

Well done mate (y) only thing I would say is 'give them a crop' , no 5 is screaming out for it. What was your shutter for them?

Iain

No1 shutter speed was 1/60 the others were shot at 1/100 as I was getter too many blurred shots.
The F4 lens didnt like the faster shutter speeds due to the low light.

As for cropping would you crop tight to the riders?

Thanks for the feedback Ian (y)

Simon.

To be honest, they are all abit boring. They all seem the same, experiment with getting closer to the riders and use the rule of thirds. Keep at it though ;)

1/60 - 100 is pretty good panning mate for that sort of shot, ok apart from no 1 they are slightly soft but at that speed you done well. For a side on shot like this I would never go above 1/250. As for cropping, yeah I feel that cyclocross and MTB are perfect for tight cropping and short lens stuff. My slideshow of the scottish champs, used a 17-35 mostly for it and got in very close....nice and muddy!
Iain

Thanks Ian, I will give em a crop later.
My plan was to start off with the 75-300mm then change back to the 18-55mm halfway through the race.
Got carried away with correct settings and before I knew it race over! :bang:

Chase779, Yeah I can see why you have said that they are boring,