Dark rooms

Edit My Images
Yes
Hello, I am an Art Technician and ex ballet dancer,

We have recently started an A-level photography course and I need plenty of advice regarding Old-fashioned darkroom equipment. Excuse the extreme lack of knowledge. I have so many questions.
First question - which is important before we buy developers - Can you develop colour in a dark room that uses a red light bulb?

Reney

Hi, And welcome aboard TP. "Enjoy"

Hi Reney...

i've moved this thread over to our dedicated film section...

i'm sure someone will be along with a whole bunch of information real soon now it's in the correct section - the film crew don't get around much other than in their own section

…the film crew don't get around much other than in their own section
This is because we become confused and get lost :runaway:

Welcome Reney, a very quick answer to your question, no.

Last edited:
Can you develop colour in a dark room that uses a red light bulb?

And, a slightly longer answer...

Colour Process requires complete blackout conditions. To expand - C41 and E6 film can be processed in daylight conditions, you just need to load the film into the processing tank in a dark-bag (or darkroom) - the rest of the chemistry bit is performed in daylight thankfully. HOWEVER, when it comes to printing the imagery, and developing/fixing the prints, that's something that needs to be done in the dark. Again, there are machines that can be used to dev/fix in daylight, however the "critical" part is exposing the sensitised paper to light , and once exposed, losing it into the daylight processing tank - and thats something that's going to need to be done in the dark.