Darkroom equipment .... advice please

drodd

Also loves to mass debate
Name
Dawn
Edit My Images
No
Hi

I am new to photography, but in some uncanny way seem to have dived into the deep end (in a fortunate way).

I have had a DSLR (Canon EOS 1000D) for the last month, which is great so far (still learning though).

I also have an old Konica Autoreflex TC (that was given to me) and the opportunity to acquire a Canon EOS 500N with various lenses.

I really like B&W and sepia shots (which I realise one can gain from using the DSLR) but the whole scientific and technical side of photography really appeals to me.

I have recently toyed with the idea of converting my outside brick sheds to a study/hobby room/darkroom; and in the last few days a friend has said that they are moving back to South Africa and can't take all with them. So they have a whole list of darkroom equipment to offer at a reasonable price (around £100).

The only thing is, I don't have a clue as to whether this would be all I need and whether it would be a good start up.

So I am here, hoping that someone will be able to offer advice.

The list is as follows:

Meopta Axomat 5 standard enlarger
various paper and chemicals
Paterson autoprint washer (with instructions and tweezers)
Translite print tray warmer
trays x 3 20x25cm (we have got more trays but they are in the roof of our house down south and we are going down to get them at the end of the month)
squeegy large and small
UV light
negative developing tank with attachable washing hose
film dryer
measuring cylinders
thermometer
tongs
timer
funnel
magnifying glass
film extractor
chemical storage containers x 3
developing bag
tripod

And a few more trays and numberous books.

What are your thoughts?

Thank you for taking the time to look and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Dawn :)