Decided a 35mm film camera

Name
Jill
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi after alot of reading last night I've decided to go with a 35mm film slr camera. My wishes would be for it not to be too bulky or heavy I'm a wee little lady. What would your first choice be ignore budget, that I already have a canon gear or I'm a beginner to film.
Thanks in advance if you give me your preferences I can research them further as at the minute there seem to be alot to choose from and I don't have a clue with digital slr it's usually a choice of 2 brands Canon or Nikon

Pentax MX (small manual and nice)
Olympus OM1 or 2 (I have an OM2 and it has a nice auto and manual mode to it, most cameras seem to sacrifice usability of one for the other)

neither will break the bank budget wise

The Nikon FM/FE series are fairly compact too, but most of the manual/mechanical SLRs were reasonably handy, providing you didn't fit a motor drive.

Bill's reply is the only one you need. The Olympus and Pentax models were the smallest 35mm film SLRs - I believe the Pentax was specifically, although the Olympus is still very compact.

EDIT: I wrote this before your post came up Martyn - no offence intended.

Last edited:
erm very difficult to know what you would like as if you want to use your Digital Canon lenses, then you would end up with a Digital looking camera that uses film. And if you want a more old fashioned Canon camera then these older lenses won't fit your digital camera, or the Canon digital lenses wont fit the older Canon cameras....so you would have a duplicate of lenses.
And you say "you are a beginner to film"...does that mean you are fed up with a Digital camera doing all the work for you and you want to think for yourself?

Bill's reply is the only one you need. The Olympus and Pentax models were the smallest 35mm film SLRs - I believe the Pentax was specifically, although the Olympus is still very compact.

I'd agree, withthe caveat it depends how you want to use it.