develop your own?

black and white hit up the ilford site

colour is a bit tirckier but similar kit for slide and just diff chems

thanks for the link but im a complete newbie at this and dont really know what the recipies mean?
Basically, it's a site where photographers say what developer they use and tag some images so viewers get the idea. It's a fair starting point so long as you ignore some of the weirder/lengthier receipes.

To go back to absolute basics you'll need a film dev' tank (a small drum like thing new or s/hand off ebay), a changing bag (lightproof fabric bag with two sleeve holes for loading film onto spiral and placing in dev tank) developer (see Ilford or Kodak sites) and fixative (ditto). Somewhere to hang your negatives to dry (a line over a bath is the usual) and some negative bags to place the cut strips into.
Then you can scan the negs or if you're lucky enough to have access to a darkroom, print them.

One of the best intro's to processing B&W film is the one in the pdf from Ilford...

It's nice and easy to follow, and, while biased towards ilford products, it's a sure fire way to get you started.

I did a quick roundup of the bits needed here

C-41 Colour (colour negatives) is a bit more involved, it seems a bit faster, and runs at higher temperatures, but is basically the same.

E6 Colour (colour slide) is a bit more difficult again, and is pretty picky about the temperature it's done at.

That said, I've done all three of them in the Utility Room sink, using a sink-bowl of hot water to regulate the temperatures, and its worked pretty well.

Same happened me and it's much easier than you think. Colour get's trickier, and is easier to muck up, but film is far more resilient than you think (apart from a full exposure to broad daylight :LOL:)

I have a very basic setup at home. One of my favourite B&Ws is HP5+ and my dev process goes something like this:

Wait til evening/night time
Get in wardrobe (this is my dark room/dark bag :D)