Digital Picture Frames - adding comment to photos

Edit My Images
Yes
I have recently been touring Europe by bicycle – I now have 4000 plus digital “snaps” – my mother is probably the only person who will possibly want to view them all (and it would make her happy) – However, she is 80+ and computer/internet option is not on – solution would seem to be a “digital picture frame”

I have no experience of digital picture frames – my main concern would be to be able to add a simple caption for her – something like “date” “location” and “comment” in something like Picasa (familiar to me) or Photoshop Elements (unfamiliar to me)

1. Do digital picture frames display comments? – a wander round the websites of manufactures like Sony and Phillips does not seem to indicate that they do
  2. If they do what format/editing programme would be best for adding comment
  3. Is it possible to batch edit the photo information using MS excel in photo editing programmes– ie csv import or similar

I would probably go with something like Lightroom and the Mogrify plug in for this and add the caption onto the jpeg.

What editing software are you using at the moment?

You can add overlay text with IrfanView (freeware), based on Exif or IPTC tags, but it'd be simpler to edit the filenames and use those as the texts - they can be incorporated without the file extension.

Frames like this will play back movie formats, so you could use Slide Show Movie Maker (freeware) and add your own recorded commentary.

I've just picked out a copy of Full Tilt by Dervla Murphy, from the donated books box at my local post office ;)