Digital to Film: How was it for you?

Name
Two Dogs....
Edit My Images
Yes
Having recently joined the camera club (ie, having bought a camera that didn't come with a free mobile phone built in) by getting a D70s, I'm hooked and loving it.

My previous attempt with an old Chinon 35mm met with much failure (mostly due, I think to a poor understanding of photography, more than anything else). But since I've gone digital I feel that I can now afford to learn some of the basics.

However, I am seriously considering going back to film (I've got a few B&W films sitting round the house from my last attempt) and possibly even going for developing (I'm a Chemist and I work for a chemical company. I secretly hope that I'll get really into it and be able to find the chemicals in bulk from one of our suppliers for less lol).

There are 2 main things at the moment:

1) I am just wondering if there are any other people here who have gone through a similar process and what there reasons for it were. Are there any who have gone through the change and have regreted it?

2) My plan at the moment is to ditch the Chinon and buy a F90 or similar so that I can use it with my D70s will the lenses be largely compatible?

Thanks for any advice, and I'm sorry if I missed anything in the forum like this.

I ditched all my Nikon film gear when I went digital. I suppose it would be wrong to say I regretted it, as I was in love with the whole idea of digital from the very early days, when the technology wasn't really hacking it, and I changed to Canon anyway when I went digital.

I'm still loving digital, but I get something from film and the shooting process which I don't get from digital. To that end I've replaced the Nikon gear with a couple of 35mm bodies and a couple of medium format cameras.

I wouldn't forsake digital - it's far too convenient, but I think there are pleasures in shooting both mediums.