Digitising 35mm negative

Still undecided as usual... Thank you for all the additional information.o_O

I've paid the extra fiver for the V550 so it'll be here tomorrow. As a complete novice to scanning (beyond A4 letters at work) I'll let you know how I get on...

This is my process for scanning B&W negatives using the V550 and the included Epson Scan software:

https://www.talkphotography.co.uk/threads/scanning-film-negs-tips-tutorials.674850/post-8123591

The only change to the information in that post is that I tend to send colour photos away for dev and scan now.

Last edited:
Last edited:
A decent macro lens is far better than any scanner

Everyone to their own choice.

Personally I would take some convincing that a decent macro lens would offer better results than a decent scanner.

Tbh, with some reasonable darkroom skills, a wet print would blow away either of the above methods imo.

Everyone to their own choice.

Personally I would take some convincing that a decent macro lens would offer better results than a decent scanner.

Tbh, with some reasonable darkroom skills, a wet print would blow away either of the above methods imo.

Then you scan the paper image to get it into your computer ?

Most people that go that route including myself do it because we want a digital version of our photographs without the need for a wet print in between .

Yes, Either scan it or photograph it digitally IF I WISH TO SHARE !

Any film based photographs that I wish to print large and keep for myself will generally be of good IQ.
That is, I believe, an important aspect to most togs ( at least to those who print ).
That being the case, I wouldn’t consider obtaining the print via a macro lens or even scanning if I could obtain a more pleasing result in the darkroom.

I take photographs for myself, not for others.
Nonetheless I’m happy to share some work on here but pretty much to share the scenes.