Beginner Do I really need a DSLR

Name
Phillip
Edit My Images
Yes
I have a Canon G16 which I bought in America last year. It takes great pics but as I am a beginner I have to learn how to use all the manual settings etc. I am thinking of selling it and buying an slr because I want to have full manual focus and to be able to have full control over shutter so I can take long exposure night shots. Recently I see Panasonic have brought out a bridge camera (FZ1000) that seems to have some of these features and a reasonable zoom. I have read reviews of this camera but still don't know if it can do what I want. Would I be better to go for an APS-C camera because of the interchangeable lenses and large image chip. Any advice would be appreciated.

Most people (like yourself) upgrade because their camera is no longer keeping up with their demands. You may find a bridge camera that resolves the issues but I think it's important to look at where you will go with your photography. My point is that a bridge camera may solve today's issues but will it solve tomorrow's? Bodies do not hold value like good glass does so unless you don't mind giving away money it's important to buy a camera body that you can grow into and not out of It's my opinion that you should always buy as much camera as you can afford for this very reason.

shaylou is right.

You really need to think what your interests are and will they stay the same. The FZ1000 looks like a jack of all trades to me.
Put it this way if long exposure night shots are what you are after now, will the FZ1000 be wide enough at 25mm.
The second hand market seems to be low at the moment and a 10-20/24mm lens would only set you back say £200-250 and say £200-£300 for a decent crop body. The difference between equivalent 15/16mm and 25mm is huge for landscape and night sky. Add a £50 50mm f1.8 and you are on the way to having some serous photography fun. There is also a load of choice for longer lens too.