Does DSLR make a lot of difference??

Name
Greg
Edit My Images
Yes
I am quite new to digital photography I have dabbled for years and am getting more serious a lot of landscapes mainly as I live close to the lake district and climb a lot, however at the moment I use a fuji s6500fd and am thinking of getting a canon eos450d as everyone says that it is a great camera and tha I cannot progress anyfurthre without a DSLR.

Thought you guys might be able to help please. A lot of my shots are auto settings unless I am photographing someone climbing then I normally tweak shutterspeed.

Hiya mate. Welcome aboard!

I'm not so sure that's strictly true that you cannot progress further.
But a D-SLR will have better results than a bridge camera.
The past couple of years has produced some excellent D-SLR camera's at an excellent price, and it's getting better!

If you take your photography even remotely serious, then yes you should get a D-SLR..........

Hi Greg & welcome to the forum.

While you're using the Fuji, force yourself to take all pics with manual settings. That way you will learn about aperture, shutterspeed, ISO and their relationship to each other. this will stand you in good stead when you do upgrade ... and you will ;)

Gary :)

I am also at the point of changing from a bridge camera back to a DSLR. I once owned a DSLR but never had time to take too many photo's and one day needed the money so I sold it :(

Even when I owned the DSLR I only ever shot in auto. Since using the bridge camera again and doing more with my photography I feel it is time to move on. I use the fuji bridge camera in both manual and shutter mode but compared to the Canon EOS 350d I have been using again (thanks mum) the difference it huge.
Personally I don't see why anyone would change from a bridge to a DSLR until they have fully used the bridge camera first, i.e. all the functions.