Downhill MTB - First Attempt

Edit My Images
No
First attempt at some downhill racing shots, taken today at Hamsterely Forset. Freezing cold so came back with lots of blurry shots lol

All with the nifty fifty and the built in flash, had to push the iso up to 800. Bit of cropping and some light pp.
Do they look dark as iv'e adjusted my monitor to compensate for photobox?

IMG_1776.jpg

IMG_1785.jpg

IMG_1805.jpg

IMG_1814.jpg

IMG_1823.jpg

IMG_1838.jpg

IMG_1861.jpg

IMG_1864.jpg

C+C most welcome and any tips for my next outing in January :)

Great set. Like foodpoison above I'm into MTB and photography.

I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to action shots like this. If I got anywhere near this I'd be well chuffed!

no 4 and the last two are your best. they feel faster and more exciting.

get in a bit closer with a wider lens and a slower shutter speed next time.

Thanks for the comments (y) Def need a proper flash

A workmate rides for team NEFR and asked if I fancied coming along, I used to do a bit of cross country but never been to a downhill race. These guys are fast and slightly mental :LOL:

same here i am into MTb and photography.

i love those shots well done, what type of shutter speed were you getting, and what lens did you get.

thanks

Mark

same here i am into MTb and photography.

i love those shots well done, what type of shutter speed were you getting, and what lens did you get.

thanks

Mark

Thanks Mark :)

Was getting around 1/200 some a bit slower, All were taken with the 50mm between f2.8 and f4
Servo af and the flash on the second curtain

They look good and in answer to your question don't look dark etc on my screen.

I have the Photobox printer profiles if you want them... just PM me.

BobR

Look Here.

Basically, if you're cropping in, either make sure there is no evidence of the ground OR evidence of the ground they're on/evidence of the take off.
If you're not cropping in, make sure the scenery is pretty.