DSLR or high end compact???

Edit My Images
No
Hi everyone,

My crappy lumix compact camera has just packed in and I want to get a replacement which will help me extend my creativity and give me lots of versitility as I anticipate that I will get into photography quite quickly and enthusiastically when I have equipment which will let me capture moments more reliably.

I am hopeful of becoming a wildlife photographer as I am a student of zoology and this would broaden my horizons and bring together 2 passions.

I am currently trying to decide whether to go for another high end compact, such as the Canon G10, or go straight into the SLR realms.

From what I understand, the G10 and other similar models allow greater flexibility and control than even some of the low end SLR's, but lack in versitility, with less add ons and lenses availible as it is after all, only a compact.I can see that this camera would be much easier to travel with and is cheaper to get underwater housing for. However it is quite costly for a compact. What do people think of this camera? Would it be right for wildlife photopraphy/for travel.

Alternatively an SLR would give me much more versitility and most would match and extend upon the top level compact cameras -such as the G10's- flexibility with greater control over parameters and functions. It would allow greater specification upon certain aspects of phototography with many more accesories availible on the market. I have been advised that the big names are the Nikon and Canons however I would not know which models to look at first.

I am willing to spend between £200 - £600 for a camera.

Can anyone advise me on what might suit me best and name a model you would say I should go and check out?

Any advise would be extremely appreciated!

Mike

Hi Mike :welcome: to TP :wave: