"Easy peasy, lemon squeezy !"

SarahLee

TPer Emerita
Name
Sarah
Edit My Images
No
No, not this photography lark . . . that's anything but easy.
Easy was the theme for the 52s this week and I decided to use "easy, peasy, lemon squeezy" as my take on it.

Surprisingly I ended up with quite a few shots that I liked.
I know that they're not as good as many on here, but given my experience level (complete newbie) and my equipment (just a bridge camera) I was quite pleased with them.

C&C very welcome please - I'm looking to learn and improve.

Thank you for looking.

1)
ALemon10V2.jpg

2)
lemon1v2-1.jpg

3)
ALemon19.jpg

4)
Lemon13.jpg

5)
Lemon72.jpg

6)
ALemon20v2.jpg

Just because you *only* have a bridge camera, doesn't mean you can't take good shots!

I take it your lemons started life as a pyramid and a heavy downpour caused them to collapse? I actually prefer the collapsed ones in terms of lemon location/placement. Have you tried using a sieve/watering can rose to pour water through? #5 looks a little to heavy on the water front was why I ask.

These do look like they were pretty hard work, and I still haven't got around to trying any water shots myself yet.

As for my faves, I like #1 for the water and dimples on the peel and #3 for the reflection dimples (although you can't make them out on the lemons). The light looks a little harsh to me because you lose the dimpling on the lemons, but not sure on how to reduce that. Hopefully someone who knows a bit about lighting can point you in the right direction.

Good work Sarah, as Carol said, "only a bridge camera" doesn't preclude good shots. I really like 1 and 3 for the same reasons as Carol. I also like 4 as the rush of water across the lemons and the freezing of the action works well for me.

I'm rubbish with creating my own lighting, but I'm guessing you used the onboard flash on the camera, might be worth looking at using some cut up and washed milk carton to help diffuse the flash somewhat.

Thank you both.