Evalyn's First Day - C&C Please :)

Name
Simon
Edit My Images
No
Hi,

I'm pretty new here and I'm pretty new to photography.
I just thought i would submit a few recent photos for C&C.

These ones are of my friends new baby, Evalyn.

Evalyn__s_First_Day_by_syeuk2002.jpg

Evalyn1_by_syeuk2002.jpg

Marion_and_Evalyn_by_syeuk2002.jpg

Helen_and_Evalyn_by_syeuk2002.jpg

I'm really looking for brutal criticism . What would YOU do to make these photos better?

Many Thanks

Simon
:)

:thinking: not sure why you have not had a reply yet simon :thinking:
im no expert on these shots but .. but for anyone to comment "helpfully" i think it would be a good idea to let people know what these were shot with and maybe a little exif data .. with this bit of info people will be able to give you alot more help..

hope this helps

as they look soft to me,,

md(y)

Simon i still leaning myself so this purly what i would have done (right or wrong)
first let me say darling baby, ok first picture i would crop very tight and take a little of the red out in PS, second i would turn the cot a little into the light and get closer,
third i would get lower and ask the lady to hold the baby closer to her face,
forth pic i would move to the left and again ask mum to hold baby closer to her face.
all of them seem soft to me but maybe thats a good thing,
was this done with a dslr?
regards,
Mark

Many thanks for letting me pick your brains.
I have taken it all on board & will return soon with improved shots.

@MonkeyDave - Sorry this these were taken with my old camera & the exif data is long gone. I will upload it with all future shots.
@MadPup - Nope, as i said above this was my old camera. I never managed to get it to focus to my liking. (it was a Finepix E500)

Thanks again for all your honesty, it helps me a lot.

Simon
:)

As has been said above, I think theres a mix of softness from a poor lens wide open, a touch of camera shake, and OOF images.