F stop & DOF on aps-c

Name
Lee
Edit My Images
No
Hi guys. I'm not a beginner though this probably might be seen as a bit of a beginner's question. I've been going out shooting photos, often at f5, or 6.3 or 7.1 thinking that's what my DOF will be. And often I sacrifice light because of these f stops and end up with a higher ISO. But I guess that's a mistake.

Since each f stop is multiplied x1.5 because of it being aps-c, then if I want a DOF of say f7.1, should I set my aperture to f4.5 which x1.5 is 6.75, or f5 which x1.5 is 7.5? Then I'd get more light onto the sensor with a faster f stop while still getting the equivalent DOF of a smaller f stop?

The whole point of f/stops is that they are independent of both lens and sensor. F/8 on a large format camera is f/8 on a medium format camera is f/8 on a "full frame" camera is f/8 on an APS-C camera.

As far as depth of field is concerned, to produce a print that is the same size, an APS-C image needs to be enlarged 1.5 times as much as a "full frame" image does and this increased enlargement decreases the depth of field in the print. To keep the depth of field the same, you need to multiply the f/number by 1.5 so to produce the DOF of f/8 on "full frame" camera you need an f/number of f/12 on an APS-C camera. To compensate for the reduced light, you need to decrease the shutter speed or increase the ISO setting.

The whole point of f/stops is that they are independent of both lens and sensor. F/8 on a large format camera is f/8 on a medium format camera is f/8 on a "full frame" camera is f/8 on an APS-C camera.