Faulty rangefinder? Off-center focus patch

Name
Wilson
Edit My Images
Yes
I have never used a rangefinder before but have taken receipt of a Bessa R2a. In the diagrams in the instruction book it shows the focus zone as centered in the viewfinder, however when I look through the viewfinder it is off-centre.

Photo_091107_001.jpg

Do you think this a faulty camera, should I return it? I am still awaiting delivery of a lens, so do not know whether mounting one would affect the placement of the focus zone, but I doubt that mounting a different lens would move the focus zone?

It might be that some parallax compensation is needed, because the viewfinder is offset from the lens, what you see is slightly different to what the lens sees. Does the problem become more apparent the closer you are to the subject?

/edit p.s. congrats on choosing the finest make of camera in the world, without question :)

Thanks for the reply Steep. I don't have a lens yet, but I had done a little reading for parallax correction. As I understand it, parrallax affects framing and perspective so I don't see why the focus zone would move once I am able to mount one. Wouldn't rather the whole image or framing lines be shifted to compensate for parallax?

I'm sure you're right, the only thing I was thinking of is that the lens is looking at a different point to you and the closer you are to the subject the bigger the difference seems. Have you checked the focus zone on a more distand object to see if it's the same?

The location of the focus patch remains stationary no matter the distance to subject. I have no lens to change the focus distance though.

The focus zone should stay in the same place regardless of which lens you use. Have a look at this link - it seems your problem isn't uncommon. I'd get it back personally.

I hope you get it sorted - lovely camera.

CLICKY