Female Wood Warbler (i think)

Name
Karen
Edit My Images
No
I know it s not the best shot the conditions here in Wales is absolutely terrible but was wondering if iv e got the ID right on this bird as I have never seen one before

wood_warbler.JPG

My first impressioins was that it was a Bonelli's Warbler, but its in the wrong country for it to be that unless its lost :p I would have to say though that the most likely charcteristics (Yellow neck and yellow streaks at teh back) would make it a Wood Warbler, yes.

I'm sure someone will be able to definatly confirm this however :)

I am no expert Kaz but those small bar markings on the wing tips suggest it to be a Wood Warbler, according to my little book :D Great picture (y)(y)

Hmmm its a toughie, wood warblers generally have a much more prominent green colour on their back, and the underside is quite yellow.
Why don`t you submit it to a bird forum those guys should be able to settle it.

The other thing that strikes me is that Wood Warblers tend to be a bit longer, this 1 is a lot more "short and fat" as it where so i'm just wondering if it is a Bonnelli's Warbler that has decided to visit us. It looks a lot like it is one.

The other thing that strikes me is that Wood Warblers tend to be a bit longer, this 1 is a lot more "short and fat" as it where so i'm just wondering if it is a Bonnelli's Warbler that has decided to visit us. It looks a lot like it is one.

:thinking: I was going to say the opposite. The pics in my book show the Bonnelli to be longer in the body, and is covered more in white on the underside, also the Bonnelli does not have that prominent dark marking across the eye whereas the Wood Warbler does.

thanks everyone i am more confused now been looking on the interenet and can t make up my mind whether it is a willow or female wood now hopefully tomorrows weather is looking better so will try and get better shots as it was hammering it down and really dull yesterday