Filters for a complete newbie.

Name
Joe
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey everyone, I am looking to buy a ND filter for my camera probably a 6 stop or a kit maybe as I am a complete beginner and I need some advice.

I dont understand if I need different size filters for different lenses? How do I buy a filter for a kit lens? Which brands are better quality wise? Should I get just ND filter or a polarising filter too?

I am interested in the filter for wide aperture portrait work and also for long exposure landscapes too.

I really appreciate any help and advice guys.

Kind Regards

-------------------------------------------

Edit: After reading everyones comments so far and I know this may seem the lazy way but would anyone care to look at what gear I currently have and reccomend to me the best value option to suit my needs. I would prefer the cheapest option but if a much better quality version of something is available for not much more money that would be good too.

I would prefer the circular screw in system just as I will be using them for portraits too.

I would do this research myself but I am really anxious about buyingthe wrong gear and wasting money which in turn would demoralise me and make me lose motivation for growth.

As always thank you all so much, reading these friendly replies this morning has put me in an awesome mood during what is going on currently.

Last edited:
Those super long daytime exposures will be a 10/15 stop I'd imagine.

For wide aperture shots you need to work out what you need from the settings you are being forced to use really vs the settings you want to use. Most common there though would be a 3 stop or maybe a polariser.....

Haida are pretty good for the money.

Hi

First how most filter systems work and then which filters do you need :)