Filters

Name
Jamie Palmer
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi There Everyone.

I'm going to America for 3 months in the Summer, really looking forward too it, but obviously my camera bag wants the trip too :)

My question is, do you think I will need an ND4 or ND8 in the middle of the summer? As I dont think my lenses will be that effective without, especially to get blue skies :)

Would u recommend getting a ND4/ND8 for each of my lenses (52mm, 58mm, 77mm)

Or getting a Cokin/Lee Filter Holder with adaptors?

Cheers
Jamie

Getting a plain ND will only allow you to lower your shutter speed, it won't do anything to even the exposure of sky and land, for that you'll need an ND grad which I don't think you can get as a screw in, and even if you can they would dictate your compostion by having the graduation at a certain level that can only be rotated rather than moved vertically.

Personally I think a holder and adapter system is far more versatile

Any links for a cheapish one :)

I'm a student can't afford much at the moment :(

Rick sums it up nicely for you. Somewhere I've got a screw-in ND grad and whilst it does have its moments, composition is pre-determined for you:crying:

I expect you'll be seeing how much a set of filters & holder system, with variously sized lens adapters will cost.

I don't understand why you would want one at all!

Are you thinking about GRADUATED ND filters?

If so go for a 1 or 2 stop hard filter, don't bother with a holder or adaptors. Hold the filter gently against the rim of the lens when you take the pic.

On the other hand, if you're not using a tripod....its swings and roundabouts whether to get the holder or not. You can hold the filter against the lens but it takes a bit of pracice.

A polariser is absolutely essential for landscape photography, and will help you get blue skies. It is most effective at right angles to the sun.

I thought I would need an ND filter for slowing down the shutter speed etc