Filters????

Name
Alan
Edit My Images
No
Hi Guys,

Apologises firstly if this question is asked a million times. I have looked through the forum first...

I have just bought myself the Lee 100mm foundation kit, I will be using my 50mm lens for the time being as I am new to landscape photos. I have got the 58 mm standard adapter.

My question is; which 2 filters should I start out with, I hope to shoot some waterfalls, seascapes and general landscapes, also I am off to scotland in August( kintyre). I cant afford the big stopper yet, I have been looking at Hitech 0.9 Nd filter and Grad, would this be a good start? Or maybe the 1.2 ND Filter?

I dont want to buy allsorts just yet, just the defo must have for now...:/

Thanks for your help.

P.s im not new to photography but I am new to landscapes...

Welcome to our landscape corner Alan!

A couple of blog posts I wrote might help you;

http://www.markmullenphotography.co.uk/blog/2013/3/filters-for-landscape-photography - ND Grads

http://www.markmullenphotography.co.uk/blog/2012/8/long-exposure-photography---my-tips - Long exposures.

If I was going to buy two filters for a trip to Scotland I'd take a 3 stop hard edged grad, and a 3 stop solid ND. With that you can reduce skies blowing out and also slow down water in seascapes and waterfalls. If you go for 150mm long filters you can also, if necessary, use the 3 stop hard edged grad pulled down over the whole lens to give you 6 stops of filtration, ideal for silky water seascapes etc.

Thanks for the welcome mark, and thanks for all your info. I will read your blog later.

I will go and place an order now.

I am after some really long exposures of waterfalls and seascapes, some black and white conversions as well. I thought i may of needed a big stopper, bit expensive just yet.

To get the silky water look you might not need a 10 stop, it depends on the ambient light, and the flow of the water.