Fire station portraits

Name
Richard Black
Edit My Images
Yes
Something that is far from my best subject.
Infact i'd say i am terrible at it!!
Anyway, i agreed i'd take a couple of shots of the lads at the fire station.
I have done so, they're far from acceptable imo.
I don't want to send them off to get printed as i'm ashamed.
Its my first attempt at a shoot and i don't want to ahve to go back and gather them up again.
Sadly part of the shot is ruined by a arm out of line that i didn't notice.

Can anyone help? Is it rude to ask?
http://www.btinternet.com/~black.richard/DSC_5815.NEF
DSC_58151.jpg

i included the Raw file if that helps. Juust after some tips really.

Oh Dear! 1/10 of a second??

You've obviously used flash, but long after the flash died away the shutter was still open and the ambient light was strong enough to record secondary blur on some of your figures. You can see it best on the chest badges of the big guy at front centre. The image is also very noisy for 200 ISO, but long exposures will increase noise.

It's not a good image and there's no point in pretending otherwise, but the guy isn't born who didn't make a mistake ...the thing is to learn from them.

Borats Baby has done as good an edit as you're likely to get out of the image tbh, so charge it up to experience.

The actual pose is OK for the regimented sort of shot these guys no doubt wanted, so you did OK there. You have all the time in the world though to set up these group shots so take your time. Use a tripod. Personally I'd like to see the feet and a bit of foreground, but I know there isn't always room for that. Have a good look in that viewfinder for background distractions and remove them. Don't be afraid to move furniture around if need be ..... take charge and don't be rushed!

You should really have increased the shutter speed to the max flash sync speed of your camera to freeze subject movement and avoid those secondary images.