Beginner First DSLR advice please - Nikon

Edit My Images
No
Hi

I am new to the site, but was recommended by friend who is keen photographer

I am looking to buy my first DSLR and having played around with a Nikon, like the operating system etc, but inevitably have a few questions:

The Nikon range is a little confusing, but I am a beginner who doesn't want or need anything top of the range, but equally would like a camera I can grow into (I have some very basic knowledge from talking to friends and reading a little, but am def a beginner). I was thinking the D5000, 5100, 5200 etc - any advice appreciated?

Should I stick with Nikon or confuse myself even further by looking at others?

Should I buy new or second hand

Should I go for FX or DX sensor?

I appreciate you get lots of beginners asking the same, but all replies will be most appreciated

Thanks

What kind of photography do you want to do?
What budget do you have?

Answers to these questions will help to provide a more informed answer.
Personally :nikon:

But actually all the main brands have something to offer, your best bet is to try them out at a shop before deciding. Ergonomics are important and all main brands will give acceptable IQ (image quality) for most.
Don't forget lenses are as, or possibly more, important.

I would buy secondhand.

At the risk of sounding a little general - landscapes, seascapes, family portrait and would love to do some wildlife zoom stuff - i would also use it for general family snapping as well.

Budget is not really a problem but i must admit that since speaking to a few friends who have more knowledge than me, I was surprised that there were so few problems with buying second hand (I thought it would not be recommended) - they of course educated me on things like shutter count.

The hardest thing I was finding with Nikon is there are so many models and the numbers make little sense to me

Thanks for the advice so far