First DSLR - should I buy body only?

Edit My Images
No
Hello,

I have limited photography experience, basically none actually, just a compact digital stuff, although I do use manual setting and adjust ISO, brightness, etc... but still just point and click really.

I seen the Canon EOS 450 which I like the look of and the price.

Do you think I should buy the body only, and spend a bit more on a better lens, etc, one that can do more than 18-55?

THanks

Hi you can get very good results with the kit lens, I still use my 18-55 EF-S, i think the 450 comes with the IS:thinking: which would be better to sell on if you need to upgrade.

Regards Mark,

it is the IS lens photo plus gives it 90% best value award have a look here at some packages.

Hi, and welcome :wave:
You're in the right place for good advice!!!

The 450D is I'm sure a fine choice for you.The kit lens would be ok for a beginner. it would get you started in the DSLR world, but you'd probably want a nicer lens sooner or later.
My advice, for what it's worth......
Would be to go for the kit, get used the camera. Settings, feel etc. Get snapping!!!
Then when your ready, go for the lens upgrade.
Normally the kit lens is just a little extra, so if this is the case then go for it.
If it's like £100 or so extra for the kit, maybe think about adding a little more £ to get a decent lens and the body only option.

That's what I'd do.
I'm not saying it's right or wrong...... ;)

Personally, get the kit. You'd be surprised how nice the pictures you can get out of a 'kit' lens. You'll know when you'll want more eventually down the road.